top of page
Writer's picturePatrizia Planzo

Pockets of Beauty - Home

Updated: Jul 18, 2023



Written July 8, 2022


I don't know about you, but growing up, my dream was to have a beautiful home that I could call my own. It's weird to think about it actually... from the earliest age I could remember, my dream wasn't to become a doctor, or travel the world, or even to get married for that matter- my greatest desire was to curate a beautiful home. This home would have lots and lots of room and space to host the people I love. It would have little items and pictures that recalled only the best memories and stories. And my walls... oh, these walls would become something sacred because they would hold every conversation within its very frame. I wanted a forever home.... and I still do.


The greatest lesson i'm learning these days is that a good home doesn't have to have all of the fancy gadgets or "instagrammable" moments, it doesn't even have to have everything you ever wanted, like white walls, a staircase, or french doors that lead you to a garden. No, none of that. A home just has to spark joy.

You don't have to wait to have a house in order to create a home.

Right now, I'm living in a small one bedroom 1980's apartment, and I couldn't be happier. Does it have the exact kitchen counters, flooring, or lighting I want? No, but this home sparks so much joy and it's because I've filled it with pockets of beauty- people I love, and little things that spark joy.


A home should feel like a place of refuge, safety, and rest. It should be inspirational and motivate you to live your best life. A place where you sing your lungs out, dance that little booty of yours in, and even a place that you praise God for.


So go and add a little more sparkle to your home; invite a friend over, host a party, go to HOMEGOODS and find something that can be your tiny mark.


I love my little home, and the words I have hanging above my bed ring with truth:

"When you love what you have, you have everything you need."



Little by little,


One day at a time.


Comentarios


bottom of page