top of page
Writer's picturePatrizia Planzo

BUTTERFLY

Updated: Jun 22, 2022



*This was my final choreography video project for my senior year of college - oh what a beautiful and unforgettable experience this was!


So, I was driving to Tampa with no pre-conceived plan for where to film this project, and all of a sudden I felt a tug on my heart to get off at the Armenia exit and drive a few miles North... All of a sudden I see the gorgeous mural of a girl and a butterfly on this huge abandoned warehouse. My little adventurous heart could not ignore the wonder that was awaiting me in that warehouse *sorry mom*, but I immediately parked my car, texted my friend to meet me, and found my way in.


This warehouse was HUGE, okay. Imagine 3 super Wal-marts stacked on top of each other, with about 30 uniquely decorative rooms on each floor. I instantly fell in love with this place. There was a sense of wonder & history here. It was as though each room had a story, and each wall heard all the conversations had in those rooms. My friend then arrived and we collaborated on the idea of having the whole video be filmed in one continuous shot. What made this magical was that I didn't think of the concept of a butterfly until AFTER the video was recorded and edited. As you journey throughout the video, it looks as if a 'butterfly' is trying to find their way out of this interior castle, on the search for freedom.


It was truly a harmonious & serendipitous moment because I've always adored butterflies. The whole process happened so organically, and I'm excited to finally share the final outcome.*




Written on August 30, 2019

Caption: Isn't it crazy, how the most prominent nature of the butterfly is their relentless fluttering as if searching for a place to rest? We see her for what, like 3 seconds before we lose sight of them... and yet, we still find her to be wondrous in beauty... ok, it's not a secret anymore - i like butterflies- but today I realized something... The butterfly is the MOST beautiful while. at. rest...


When she takes a moment to herself on a blade of grass, we can witness firsthand the unique squiggles of her wings... and it had me thinking... we are the most beautiful when we are at rest too! When I take time away from obsessive productivity and fill my time with what breathes radiant life into my very being, it allows me to give more generously and love evermore fully.



~


Danced, Choreographed, Edited in August of 2019


Credits

Patrizia Planzo: Dancing, Video Editing, Music Editing, Choreography

Taylor Jourdan: Videography & Choreography

Sharon Van Etten: Songwriter

Free People URBN & Company: Voiceover


Comments


bottom of page