top of page

Araguaney


Written on March 13, 2022


Growing up, my mom always talked about the "Araguaney" tree that grew behind her parents' school in Venezuela. How, when the leaves fully bloomed, it gave life and shed all over the courtyard. The Araguaney tree grows slowly and those yellow "flowers of gold" bloom for a couple days at a time, so catching the tree at full bloom is a special gift.


A few days ago, I got to see one in full bloom a few miles away from where I'm getting married, and my little heart filled with gratitude. Whenever I see this yellow color in nature, mostly in butterflies, it reminds me to have hope...I think hope working alongside love is the most powerful force we have in this wild world. Like the Araguaney tree, hope takes time to build but it can truly last forever. Hope can turn barren soil into abundant fruit.


Something I am constantly reminded of is that, good things take time. For a tall and Lucious tree, one has to plant a dormant seed, which only awakens when it is met with water. This begins the tree's growth. Then after watering it a few times, even daily, it doesn't sprout out of the ground just yet. The roots need to spread, the bark needs to form, and after at least a few years, the tree finally begins to form. How wild is that? Don't we take just as long to grow as trees do?


So why are we not as patient or merciful with ourselves...


It's because we lose hope when our petals fall off, or we aren't in full bloom...


Your inner beauty holds JUST as much power of a fully grown, lucious & bold Araguaney tree. It just takes time to fully bloom, but that's the beauty of life itself. Be patient with yourself, you're doing a great job.


Let's remember to cherish these tiny marks of hope that God sprinkles into our lives.


Little by little


One day at a time,


We're gunna make it, guys.


"The Lord is my light and my salvation. I believe that I shall see the bounty of the Lord in the land of the living. Wait for the LORD with courage; be stouthearted, and wait for the LORD." Psalm 27





1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page